Pictured is Boophone disticha, of course, which will bloom, according to a Capuchin friar seen skulking in the gardens, in 27 years—and if that seems to be a long time to you, take comfort in the esoteric knowledge that a poison extracted from its leaves can kill a man in a few seconds and that there’s really no reason to wait for it to bloom in order to avail oneself of its distinct properties.

Boophone disticha

Again this blog is drifting into the macabre. But that’s your fault for reading.

Hopefully I’ve done this correctly. It’s been such a long while since I’ve posted something I’ve  forgotten the basics.

I also had to remind myself that this is an educational blog, therefore feeling obliged (no, compelled) to tell you that a group of foxes is a skulk.

https://www.101words.org/a-familiar-story/

8 Comments

  1. I hope the “extraction” of deadly poison requires more than a simple handling of these leaves—while re-potting, say, on a day when you happen to have a sore hangnail—otherwise I would fear for your life, dear Prospero.

    “A skulk of foxes,” is one I don’t remember encountering in my old dog-eared copy of An Exaltation Of Larks….I need to fetch that book out again, for some sorely needed amusement. And for bemusement, did you know that those group names are called “terms of venery,” or “venereal” terms? Looks like we are bound to get into trouble here. But I’m glad to see you posting and, as usual, I always learn something.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Even the comments are filled with nuggets of knowledge–what did I tell you about this being an educational blog…

      I wouldn’t dare touch any of the plants here, as they are all potential killers. How can one live like this? Good question. Just the thought of being vellicated by a leaf or by the roughness of some exotic tree bark is enough to excite anxiety.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t know that about foxes, but I won’t go and skulk in a corner over it. The Capuchin friar clearly had quite a bit if time on his hands. (And P.S. – you have been missed).

    Liked by 1 person

    • What is the collective noun for a group of Capuchin friars?

      Don’t tell me a skulk of friars because I’d know it’s an example of good old New Zealand humor trying to–and successfully stealing–the limelight.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Where you been, Prospero? Seems our blues coincided in the slurry/hyper-space. Anyways, I got new friend now called Esme, tweets my writes, that kind of stuff, wow. She’s not you though, hope you’re fine, I miss your funny face, I’ll come to your blog all the time if you like? Write me soon, Daphne.

    I was writing a story all about you – then my boy was a bad lad, put me off the jokes a while, all best.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I decided to wait till I was famous before returning to wordpress. Smart move and boy does it feel good.

      Now I can write doodlings and infuse them with an air of superiority; moreover, there’s nothing I can’t do (except for construction work because I can’t stand to chomp down on a sandwich that’s been locked in a brittle plastic lunchbox for hours–just can’t stomach it; I’m sure you’re the same).

      Naturally I subscribe to the basic tenets of polygamy so you may send my way, dressed in diaphanous veils, Esme, Isodora, and Daphne.

      Will stop by Brighton Beach shortly. Put the kettle on.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It appears as though you have been skulking in dangerous botanical territory. Ferret rather with the foxes I say; less chance of extraction; although it appears venereal contractions may be a consideration!

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

