Banana

banana DSC_3238_agfs_sm

https://www.101words.org/dad/

 

16 Comments

  1. Beautiful photograph!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I once read somewhere —you know how it is, these days trying to pin down sources of information— that bananas are the only known cure for existential dread.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So you’re saying I shouldn’t divest myself of the banana farm?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Exactly. The medicine men–who know very little about natural nutrition so they run always on the one track they learned in school—tell all the little old ladies (a demographic I know up close and personal) to eat bananas for potassium. The little old ladies buy them when they’re on sale….they buy too many because they’re on sale….they can’t eat the bananas as fast as they ripen….they make banana bread with the over-ripe ones and pawn it off on everyone. Then they go and buy more bananas. I assume there will always be little old ladies, if not the urge to make and eat banana bread, so there will always be at least this market for your produce. Bananas and over-ripeness are that existential dread I was talking about…so hang on to your bananas. As Groucho Marx said: “Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.

    Like

    • You think you have existential problems with bananas conspiring to ripen at the same time? Just imagine, if you will, 400 pounds of bananas (enough to satisfy all the old ladies in, let’s say, Ohio)–all ripening maniacally at the same time. Now you know what it’s like to live on a banana farm… And that’s in the middle of winter! Bananas will be the death of me.

      And a lot of foods have far more potassium than bananas, but don’t tell Groucho Marx–unless you want to.

      Liked by 1 person

      • “A lot of foods have far more potassium than bananas..” Of course. So why do the medicine men keep pushing just bananas? Another existential question. Groucho (my one and only favorite Marxist) probably knew better, but he is no longer within the reach of my voice.

        Like

      • “So why do the medicine men keep pushing just bananas?”

        Because the surgeon general is Ecuadorian (probably) and is in bed, a canopy bed with luteous pillows, with conglomerate Chiquita Brands.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I think Cynthia (whose birthday it is on the 24th) is getting muddled between bananas and bandanas. This possibly stems from a lack of potassium to the brain. I have a banana on my head all the time and suffer no shortage of potassium.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The mental image of you, a banana on your head which looks for all the world like curved horns oozing a little round potassium helmet, and (in my own twisted version of it) singing some kind of role in a Wagnerian extravaganza….now that is a birthday gift!

      Liked by 2 people

      • The Ecuadorian version of Der Ring des Nibelungen brings tears to my eyes–then, at the intermission, half way through the spectacle (about three hours till the end) I go into convulsions, a sure sign of a potassium overdose.

        Liked by 2 people

    • I have 400 pounds of bananas on my hand and suffer no shortage of bananas.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m like you are for Der Ring des Nibelungen, but it’s with Tristan und Isolde – more from lack of air than a scarcity of potassium.

        Liked by 1 person

      • With Wagner I’m generally pretty good for around six hours, then I start to blank out.

        Liked by 2 people

  6. A banana drama, in technicolour no less.

    But I am not being allowed to go through the link on this one to the 101 story, I get a warning sign, all bold, bold as brass in fact saying it is not safe and my passwords shall be hacked!

    – esme barred from reading the bard upon the Cloud

    Like

    • I had the link tested (cat-scan, mri, glucose test) and it seems fine.

      I think it may have something to do with Annie Aardvark.

      Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

