Dr. Libellule, director of Sun Haven, a sanatorium for wayward souls, had once visited South Africa (the province of KwaZulu-Natal), where he became enamored with a hazel-eyed, simpering housemaid and, later, after days of debauchery in Pietermaritzburg, the genus Clivia.

Clivia

Clivia miniata var simpering housemaid

Campomanesia lineatifolia

Campomanesia lineatifolia (La chamba, Champa, Perfume Guava) I am quite proud of this small tree from the rainforests of Ecaudor. It’s rare in cultivation.

Campomanesia lineatifolia seed

Here is the seed. What a humble beginning.

Papaya seedling

Carica papaya watermelon This is a Hawaiian variety of papaya.

Hibiscus acetosella leavesHibiscus acetosella flower

Hibiscus acetosella The leaves of this hibiscus are edible. The flower is pretty too.

Morning glory

Ipomoea platensis (Argentinian moning glory) This ipomoea makes a huge caudex. It needs to be pruned often as the vine grows very vigorously.

Sago

Cycas revoluta

Sadly, my cinnamon plants are not doing very well. They need to be kept very dry. I’ve lost several already and am struggling to keep the remaining plants alive.

11 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on rennydiokno.com.

    Like

    • Thank you. And it looks better on your blog than it does on mine!

      Like

  2. I’m not in the least surprised that Dr. Libellule became enamored of the lovely Clivia. She’s a very classy lady. But I’m sorry to hear that your cinnamon plants are not doing well. I can’t offer advice on the subject, mind you. We’ve never tried to grow it. Lovely photos.

    Like

  3. gorgeous photographs and intriguing information. as a child I found clivias magical, as I never expected such a display from a plant I thought was sort of like my mother’s other, perpetually-green houseplants.

    Like

    • Plants are devilishly clever and have the ability to surprise us when it suits their lyrical purpose–today I’ll pose in these drab, mint-green overalls and tomorrow, at the first hint of duskiness, I’ll fill the air with somnolent perfume and the dazzle the holy innocents with whom I live with showy rhinestones.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hello Propsero! So sorry to read that the cinnamon plants aren’t surviving – your flowers are exquisite. While some might eat the hibiscus I want to just savor the image of this most gorgeous pink/red/orange flower.

    Like

  5. As Oliver Cromwell is reported to have said in an old poem about gunpowder but might bear repeating with a bit of an edit as I am saddened by hearing of your predicament with my favorite spice plant:

    “Put your trust in God, my boy, and keep your cinnamon dry!”

    Like

    • Good horticultural advice, though you should also be aware that I, and this can only be achieved by deploying a formidable array of dessicants, do in fact keep my gunpowder dry, as my line of work requires the occasional use of incendiary devices. Oddly enough, the cannons which lend authenticity to the walls of my fortress seem to revel in the stuff. I myself find the powder rather vulgar but I do enjoy the teeth-rattling sound it appears to enable.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Prospero , oui je suis revenue..et jaii été tellement emue de lire tes quelques mots..tout est revenu en meme temps dans mon coeur et ma memoire , ton jardin , tes si jolies fleurs , nos echanges que j’aimais bien 🙂 je suis contente de te lire de nouveau

    Like

    • Chère Clo, tu me manques beaucoup.

      Like

  7. Such a marvelous array of flora! Beautiful!

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

